“And like, he has no right to judge rap!” (says the white girl)

1-14-10

“And like, he has no right to judge rap!” (says the white girl)

After the dog incident I did not go back to sleep. Instead I thought about what program I would like to join, what experiences I might have, and how many people reached an altered state while listening to Sigur Ros. At 6AM I rose and realized I was about to create a routine that I would follow for the next three months. It included tooth brushing with bottled water, sunscreen application and many other little tasks that add up to a substantial amount of morning. Before the sun was fully up the African heat had me sweating in my clothes.

At seven Senam dropped the children off to the Tema SOS village and I got a brief tour (with handholding) by his two children. Although school was supposed to start at seven, teachers arrived at 7:20 while students played and swept. The village is quite nice, and all of the children are very friendly. When we ventured on I began to think about the sweeping. Every home we passed on the way into Accra held at least one person sweeping the front. They were sweeping the dirt, not the concrete, which confused me greatly. According to Senam this is to keep the environment safe… when I understand I will explain it to you guys.

We then went to his office where he went to work creating his latest publication. I got to use his internet café for free which rocked. The internet here is faster than mine at home, so I explored Facebook and emailed important people. Then I researched my newly purchased phone. When I got bored I roamed the university’s campus where I ran into some American students from a university near Philadelphia. They were polite enough, but we were worlds apart. They were talking about a friend back home who apparently was in no shape to critique rap music and I was worried about being ostracized in my new home. So I went back to the internet café and sat for several hours twiddling my thumbs.

I was successful in my pursuits to get currency exchanged and solidifying my program. I will spend a night in Kodzi and return periodically throughout my stay in Ghana, but I will be working at SOS. I am not sure of my location just yet, but both Senam and myself are more comfortable with this arrangement.

The most striking thing about the culture today was how polite everyone is. I spent the majority of my day in Accra, Ghana’s largest city and did not see one argument. At the bank, when Isaac, my companion for the bank, and I rejoined the teller line, the people we cut in front of were completely accepting. Even more remarkably, Senam went to have a word with the mechanic who wrecked his wife’s car by putting the wrong oil in it and they had an amiable conversation and resolved the problem. There were no strong words (I don’t think- it was mostly in Ewe), only laughter strange motor sounds and movements by both men. In five minutes we were gone home to relay the good news to Geena.

Later tonight I am to join Senam and Geena for a birthday dinner with their friend. It will be at a restaurant called Chopsticks. I read about it in a guide book but will refresh my memory before we go.

Practical Ghanaian Travel Tip #5: Time is really only a suggestion. I learned today that when someone says 30 minutes they mean an hour, and when you agree to meet at six it will actually be between 6:30 and 7:30.

Practical Ghanaian Travel Tip #6: Cell phones are cheap and widely available throughout Ghana. In fact, I believe they have the most advertisements and brokers out of any product in the country. The pay as you go phone that I have only charges 14 pesewas (roughly 10 cents US) per minute to dial the United States and 10 pesewas for local calls.

3 Responses to ““And like, he has no right to judge rap!” (says the white girl)”

  1. Dad Says:

    Glad to hear you are safe and sound, Christine and Ian say hi.

    Very proud of you and I love you.

    Keep us updated

    Your post are very funny

  2. Christine Says:

    Hi Christina,

    I am glad to see you arrived safely and the blog is up and running. It is wonderful to be kept up todate. Your dad was very happy to hear from you today and shared your stories with me.
    Would love to hear more about the food. What did you eat at Chopsticks?
    I know the electicity can be unpredictable in that part of the world. So do not feel badly if you can’t get to blog more than once a week.

    Love,
    Christine

  3. Chelsey Says:

    hmm.. I tried looking it up online, the whole dirt thing, but I didnt have much success. Were they sweeping things off of the dirt? or just pushing it around? I am sure its not to let waste build up in certain locations, helps environment and prevent against diseases, maybe?

    I dont think anyone has the right to judge anyone elses music. Or perhaps, we all have the right to judge it, but we also have the right to enjoy whatever we enjoy =)

    hmm… I have quite a few friends that say “I will be there in five minutes! I am turning onto Eber now!” when they are really still in Rockledge…

Leave a Reply

