Malaria What?!

2-12-10

So yeah, today was a very interesting day. It started with more card playing, this time with Justine. We played the game “Presidents”. I don’t know if anyone remembers this from their grade school days. Anyway, it was fun and I was surprised that it transcended continents. In the afternoon we got lunch at a new spot. Ben always fails to mention these things (Justine has been eating at the same two places everyday for the past month and a half) so I was a bit ticked at him when he nonchalantly talked about how he and Jo, a fling/previous volunteer, had eaten there all the time. The food was good. Justine and I paid 80 pesewas (about 60 cents) each for a large portion of rice with gravy and plantains. The meat looked rather grey and old, so we stayed away from that.

Afterwards we went to Fise. It turns out that most of the recipients had gone to Accra today to buy supplies and sell at the market. Our only stop was to visit Auntie Cynthia. Keep in mind that this woman completely flustered me on Tuesday when she complained that I didn’t speak proper English and then chastised me for not asking her a lot of questions. She is a very sweet woman though. And her daughter is one of the cutest children I have ever seen (probably because she is always so sad and crying every time I see her). I will post a picture if I get the chance in the future. Her name is Elisa.

By this point I was feeling like crap. I started having aches and pains in the office, and the sun just made it even worse. I sat on Cynthia’s porch and had a box of orange juice and a bag of water. None of this made me feel any better. By the time I got home I could only just plop my dirty body down onto the bed and will myself to take off my shoes. I felt feverish so after relieving my bladder and getting water (I gave myself till the count of ten to get up) I took my temperature. Unfortunately I had just drunk refrigerated water, so the reading wasn’t accurate. It said 99.5. I lay for another hour then took my temperature again. It now said 100.5 and I decided that I should let someone know. I texted Hayford to check on me when he got in to make sure I was still ok- and then I slept.

When I awoke the fever was 101.4 and I took ibuprofen (the thought didn’t occur to me until then) and lay back down. Hayford checked on me as promised, and Justine mentioned that she felt feverish as well. We decided to go to a clinic for a malaria test.

The hospital in Amasaman is quite large and it was empty when we got there. I would argue that, like most of Ghana, it could have been much more efficient. We had to pay after each step of the process- first after intake, then before getting the malaria test, then before getting medicine. As a matter of fact I went to pay before seeing the pharmacist and the man told me to go to the pharmacy where I was told to go back to the man before I could get my meds. Although the malaria test came back negative I was still given malaria treatment, which I will take as a precaution. I think it was heat stroke.

Thought on Ghana #53: I came up with a great solution for Ghana’s road dangers- test people to make sure they know how to operate a vehicle! Apparently here you only have to pay a fee to be issued a license.

2 Responses to “Malaria What?!”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    glad you dont have malaria! and thats crazy about the license… its similar in puerto rico

  2. Sandy Reese Says:

    You r your father’s own child…very articulate ! I am a friend of u dad’s from NY from back in d day. Hope u r ok and feelng better .
    PS I rarely check my email, but i am on FB at least once weeklt as
    Sandy Reese Rigg

Leave a Reply

