It is a He-Goat!

2-25-10

I am sorry that I haven’t written in a few days. Quite honestly, I have forgotten about the blog. I think my last entry was about Monday, so I will catch up on the things happening here.

First of all, I am incredibly homesick. I miss feeling clean and normal. I miss school and my life and my routine. And I suppose, most importantly, the reality of what I need to figure out when I return home has hit me upside the head. Therefore these past few days have been quite emotional for me, and I have as a result, been far less productive than I would have liked.

On Tuesday we started the English lessons for the recipients in Amasaman. Most of them are Muslim and speak only Arabic and Twi. Justine, Dawn, and I had a lesson plan in mind for the hour, but Madam Aisha, the schoolteacher helping us, took over the class. We ended up teaching only the first five letters of the alphabet. At the end of class, we felt that everything would need to speed up if we were going to keep the interest of the women and get through everything in under three months.

Wednesday was a normal day at the office. The most interesting thing that happened was on our trotro ride to work. We all boarded a van and settled in for the ride, but at the next stop a man got off the bus. As he passed us, an extremely loud sound came from close to him, and I thought it was a child. It took me a few moments to realize that it was a terrified goat making the noise. When the man left, a guy sitting behind us said, “that was a he-goat!”. I later found out that this was the most obvious statement of the year since both Justine and Dawn got a face full of goat crotch.

On Thursday we attempted the English lessons again. This time Dorcas accompanied us, and the male leader of the Muslim Association of Amasaman came to oversee as well. Needless to say, there were way too many chiefs in the classroom. I am in charge of overseeing the lessons and for teaching, mainly because Dawn leaves on Tuesday and Justine doesn’t feel comfortable teaching English. Madam Aisha still believes that it is her classroom, however, and contradicts everything I say. It is most frustrating because we would like to teach English to the women as a conversational skill for their businesses, and Aisha wants them to learn English as a five year-old would. Without offending her, we aren’t sure how to keep control of the classroom though. We did manage to begin teaching greetings along with the next five letters of the alphabet. My concern is that they are going to only associate each letter with one word since Aisha insists on teaching ‘A is for apple, B is for banku, C is for cake’, and so on. At this rate we will still be working on two letter words in two months.

In the evening, Justine, Dawn, Hayford and myself went to a bar in Pokuase. It was on the rooftop of a building and served basic alcohols and meat kabobs. We had a great time, although I have to get used to the bar scene in Ghana. I find that people generally only sit and talk for an hour or so, so most of the time we are home before 11PM. While we all wake up early in the morning, I sometimes find it pointless to go out since it costs so much to travel to the bar, buy a drink, and then sit in a sleepy silence before returning home. Perhaps I will have to teach them how it’s done in America…

Tomorrow Dawn and I will head for Lake Volta. I am not sure exactly what we will get done, but hopefully it will be fun. I plan to be back on Sunday evening, and next week I will be more consistent about my entries. I’ve been tired this week and slacking off both here and at work.

Random Ghanaian Fact #56: According to the current government, the Ghanaian Cedi is appreciating in value against most of the world’s major currencies.

Random Ghanaian Fact #57: Also according to the government, the recently found oil deposits will be the saviour of Ghana’s economy. I beg to differ.

One Response to “It is a He-Goat!”

  1. christine Says:

    Hi Christina,
    That HS feeling is perfectly normal, even more some being in Africa. Its too long to get into here. When you return we will talk. My feelings were similar to yours and I was in a more cosmopitan setting. You are doing a great job with the blog. We nderstand if you don’t write everyday. Maybe you should just tweet from your blog. You know no more than 140 words.
    Good luck!
    Love, Christine

Leave a Reply

