A Real Ghanaian

3-2-10

Today I actually worked hard. After waking up and having breakfast, the power went out so Justine and I willingly went to work. If there is no power in Pokuase, there is power in Amasaman and vice versa. We found no power at work. Justine, Dorcas, and I spent the entire day sweating cups of water and on top of that, five women came in to finish repaying. By the end of the day Dorcas and I were exhausted since I had to conduct five 45 minute interviews and she had to translate all of them. We now have 15 successful returns out of 28 recipients. I now have thirteen success stories to write about for the VPWA website…yeah. Amazingly, however, is that now I am mistaken for a Ghanaian on a daily basis. People often come up to me and start talking in Twi, and in the office the women who come to pay talk to me without any hesitation. I just wish I could understand them.

In the afternoon we went to teach English at the mosque school in Amasaman. We found Aisha having her hair braided, and she asked us to discuss how to do the bookkeeping since it would be a requirement for the second round of loans (her group had finished paying, along with several other Muslim women). We decided to start the English portion first, and then get into the bookkeeping, but when Aisha came to class she said that a few of the women were only there for the bookkeeping and had to go to cook so we should do the bookkeeping right away. Justine agreed and got up to begin teaching (she had created the bookkeeping templates so was most qualified to explain them) but was intercepted by Aisha. Aisha then spent the next half an hour teaching them the bookkeeping in a way that was more confusing and complicated, and not beneficial to VPWA in the least. All we could do was sit and watch because she wouldn’t allow us to help her explain it. So now we will have to explain it to them again which will confuse them even further.

In the evening Justine and I enjoyed the peace of Numo’s house and sat together sharing stories of our experiences in Ghana and the things we miss about home (cheese!). All in all not a bad day, much less hectic than yesterday.

Practical Ghanaian Travel Tip #60: When exiting trotros be mindful of your ankles (particularly the left one) and shoulders. I have had a bruise on my ankle since two weeks in, and both of my shoulders are bruised with a gash on the right one!

Leave a Reply

