3-6-10 Independence Day

3-6-10

Independence Day

Last night after writing my blog I stayed up until 1:30AM cleaning and building a new wardrobe. I found out that I would indeed be sharing a room, so major improvements to its condition had to be accomplished. As a result, however, I missed the morning parade in Accra. I left the house at around 9AM and headed for the city, hoping that the National Museum would be open. On the trotro I sat next to a man holding a Bible. Wrong decision. He took the next thirty minutes to explain the benefits of accepting Jesus as my Lord and Savior and told me that I would go to hell if I didn’t do so. Luckily, he got off the trotro only halfway through my journey. I got off at Circle and crossed the deadly roads all joining at the gigantic roundabout to find a shared taxi station. Using my logic I deduced that it had to be in the direction towards Accra Central, and sure enough it was. I asked to go to Ministries as Hayford had explained to me and was told to get into one car, but when I specified that I wanted to be dropped off in front of the National Museum the driver yelled at me and then we held eye contact for twenty awkward seconds. After this we both chuckled and I got into another taxi (it was such a strange experience).

I was, in fact, dropped off in front of the National Museum and found the entrance, which was placed in a very unassuming spot. The entrance fee for volunteers was 3GHC and there was a 2GHC fee for cameras. Usually I would have lied about taking pictures, but this time I decided to be honest. The museum is a rounded building, two stories high and housed many Ghanaian artifacts. If I were to critique it, it lacked detailed descriptions (most items weren’t even dated) and seemed like a very washed out account of Ghanaian history. Nonetheless, I walked through all of the exhibits and took in all that it had to offer. One really cool thing was that I saw an actual Chi-Wara. This is a mask worn during ceremonies and festivals to symbolize agriculture and farming. The nerd in me thought this was really cool. Unfortunately, however, the majority of artifacts aren’t very well preserved, so I suspect their conditions will deteriorate rapidly in the not air conditioned building.

After the museum I considered going to Independence Square, but hunger got the best of me. My decision was to head towards Circle and find something to eat there. I saw in the tourist guide that there was a restaurant called The Orangerie, but it seemed quite out of the way. I told the taxi driver to take me to Circle, and on the way I saw none other than The Orangerie. I took this as a sign and got out, paying the full fare, to investigate the place. It was quite classy. There was a simple menu with Ghanaian and western dishes, and although the red-red tempted me greatly, I decided to have a roast beef sandwich with a glass of fresh-squeezed lemonade. What a great decision! The sandwich was amazing (I apologize to everyone for always obsessing over the food). It involved toasted bread with gerkins, lettuce, roasted beef, mayonnaise and mustard. So freaking good! Anyway, after indulging on this heavenly sandwich I made my way to Circle and got a trotro home (this trotro broke down and had its engine beaten by the driver with a wrench).

Later Laralynn came to VPWA. She seemed very tired, so after a Coke at the bar next door, we retired for the evening.

Ghanaian Random Fact #65: The Cedi was named so after the Twi word ‘cedee’ which means cowrie shells.

Leave a Reply

